My life with cerebral palsy 

Joaquin Tenedora-Forte 
December 23, 2015
      YouTube is a great platform that I want to be able to do, this is a speech I wrote last week. Explaining why I can not do YouTube….
     Did you notice how I walk, how I talk, that is because of a developmental disorder due to a luck of oxygen to the brain. What condition am I talking about, It is cerebral palsy. Cerebral palsy is a brain injury occurring before, during or shortly after birth. CP is one of the most common developmental disabilities in children affecting one in every eight hundred live births. 
       By the way my name is Joaquin, I was born with cerebral palsy and everyday of my life it affects me. The way I talk and the fear of falling down. I have a milder case of CP. Cerebral palsy is a spectrum disorder from mild, moderate, sever or profound. People with cerebral palsy can have profound mental disabilities. But lucky for me, I am a smart person. 
     My cerebral palsy affects how I talk, i have a spastic type that affects the left side of my body greater than my right side. But my memory and intelligence is normal. I am very conscious of talking in public because of my cerebral palsy, I will not order food from restaurants, or even ask help from people at supermarkets.
     The most frustrating thing about having CP is when people look down at me, and talk to me as a young child, which I am not a child. I am 23, talk to me as an adult. We are not virtual children. People like me are smart and we can contribute to the greater good of the world. 
      By the way, I want to do my favorite buzzfeed videos, when they take people for example, who are bisexual, they will say who they are and who they are not. So this is it, I have cerebral palsy, but I am not dumb, but I am an artist, I am a writer, I want to be a filmmaker. I want to change the world.  
      Finally, people with cerebral palsy are diverse. Just keep that in mind when you see people like me. Thank you very much, have a great day.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal, Uncategorized

One response to “My life with cerebral palsy 

  1. Pingback: Personal: Good Girls Don’t Wear suits and Ties: My Life As A Gender Non Conforming Person | JOAQUIN'S BLOG

Leave a Reply

